Asia Cup 2023, Schedule, Venue, previous year winners

The Asia Cup 2023 is set to kick off on August 30, serving as a significant prelude to the World Cup later in the year. Hosted jointly by Sri Lanka and Pakistan, the tournament will feature six participating teams: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Nepal. Unlike the T20 format used in the previous year, the Asia Cup 2023 will return to the One Day International (ODI) format due to the upcoming ODI World Cup. With a rich history dating back to its inception in 1984, the Asia Cup has become a prestigious cricket event in the region, witnessing intense rivalry and showcasing the talent of Asian cricketing nations.

This edition of the Asia Cup will employ a format featuring two groups, each containing three teams, which will compete in a single round-robin stage. After the group stage, one team from each group will be eliminated, and the remaining teams will move on to the Super Four stage. The top two teams from the Super Four will then compete in the final match to determine the champion. The tournament schedule is filled with exciting clashes, including marquee matches such as Pakistan vs India on September 2 and the final on September 17. Cricket enthusiasts across India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Nepal can catch the live action through various broadcasting channels and streaming platforms tailored to each country’s audience.

Asia Cup 2023 Schedule

Sure, here is the schedule for the Asia Cup 2023:

Group Stage:

August 30: Pakistan vs Nepal, Multan, 3:30 PM IST

August 31: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, Pallekele, 1 PM IST

September 2: Pakistan vs India, Pallekele, 1 PM IST

September 3: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan, Lahore, 1:30 PM IST

September 4: India vs Nepal, Pallekele, 1 PM IST

September 5: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka, Lahore, 3:30 PM IST

Super Four:

September 6: A1 vs B2, Lahore, 3:30 PM IST

September 9: B1 vs B2, Colombo, 2 PM IST

September 10: A1 vs A2, Colombo, 2 PM IST

September 12: A2 vs B1, Colombo, 2 PM IST

September 14: A1 vs B1, Colombo, 2 PM IST

September 15: A2 vs B2, Colombo, 2 PM IST


September 17: TBC vs TBC, Colombo, 2 PM IST

Please note that the schedule is subject to change, so it’s a good idea to keep an eye on official cricket sources for any updates.


Asia Cup 2023 Venue

The Asia Cup 2023 is scheduled to be jointly hosted by Sri Lanka and Pakistan. The matches will be played across different venues in these two countries. The tournament aims to provide an exciting cricketing experience for fans in both nations, showcasing the talent of the participating teams on various cricket grounds.

Asia Cup Past winners

Certainly, here is a list of past winners of the Asia Cup:

1984: India

1986: Sri Lanka

1988: India

1990–91: India

1995: India

1997: Sri Lanka

2000: Pakistan

2004: Sri Lanka

2008: Sri Lanka

2010: India

2012: Pakistan

2014: Sri Lanka

2016: India (T20 format)

2018: India

2022: Sri Lanka (T20 format)

These teams have claimed victory in the prestigious Asia Cup over the years, showcasing their cricketing prowess and competing for regional supremacy.


Comments are closed.

Join WhatsApp Group JOIN NOW