IPL 2024 Retentions: Full List of Players Retained, Released by All the 10 Franchises

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. The league was founded in 2007 and it is currently contested by 10 teams based in 10 different Indian cities. The IPL is one of the most popular sporting events in the world and it is watched by millions of people all over the globe.

The IPL retention deadline for the 2024 season was on November 15, 2023. Each team was allowed to retain a maximum of four players from their 2023 squad. The remaining players were released back into the auction pool.

Here is the full list of retained and released players for the 2024 IPL season:

Retained Players:

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

KL Rahul (Lucknow Super Giants)

Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)

Hardik Pandya (Gujarat Titans)

Jasprit Bumrah (Mumbai Indians)

Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai Super Kings)

Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians)

Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

Kagiso Rabada (Lucknow Super Giants)

Rashid Khan (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals)

Released Players:

Ben Stokes (Chennai Super Kings)

Dwaine Pretorius (Chennai Super Kings)

Ambati Rayudu (Chennai Super Kings)

Shivam Dube (Chennai Super Kings)

David Willey (Chennai Super Kings)

Wayne Parnell (Chennai Super Kings)

Deepak Chahar (Chennai Super Kings)

Sam Billings (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Lockie Ferguson (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Tim Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Marcus Stoinis (Delhi Capitals)

Mitchell Marsh (Delhi Capitals)

David Warner (Delhi Capitals)

Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans)

Lockie Ferguson (Gujarat Titans)

Wriddhiman Saha (Gujarat Titans)

Rahul Tewatia (Gujarat Titans)

Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals)

Shimron Hetmyer (Rajasthan Royals)

Navdeep Saini (Rajasthan Royals)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Nicholas Pooran (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Romario Shepherd (Sunrisers Hyderabad)


The IPL auction will be held on December 16, 2023. All of the players who were released back into the auction pool will be up for grabs, as well as some new players who have been nominated by their respective boards.

Important Note:

The IPL 2024 season is sure to be another exciting one. With so many talented players up for grabs in the auction, it will be interesting to see how the teams shape their squads.

Join WhatsApp Group JOIN NOW